Political History

Political History of Pakistan

Political history of Pakistan is as old as Pakistan itself is. Pakistan came into being on 14th of August, for the Muslims of sub-continent to lead life in a country where everything is established according to Islam and its principles. After the establishment of Pakistan a new chapter begin, politics and due to which issue arise related to politics, economy and socialism, often characterized by martial-law and corrupt government.


In 1947 after the establishment of Pakistan, Liaquat Ali khan became the first prime minister of Pakistan, and Quaid-i-Azam became the first Governor General of Pakistan.


Father of the nation, Mohammad Ali Jinnah died in this year. Before his death on 14th August, 1948 he said:

The foundations of your State have been laid and it is now for you to build and build as quickly and as well as you can.


The first prime minister of Pakistan was assassinated at a rally in Rawalpindi.

1954 to 1956:

The first constituent assembly was dissolved by Governor Ghulam Muhammad, The first constituent declares Pakistan as an Islamic Republic. The former General Sikander Mirza became the first President.


The first martial was imposed and General Ayub Khan took the charge and later became the resident.


The first war with India, after the establishment of Pakistan, was fought in this year.


Generral Yahya Khan imposed the second martial law after the street protests in 1968 and when General Ayyub khan was losing control and gave up the charge that was taken over by General Yahya Khan.


Pakistan went to polls in 1970 for the first general elections and it was expected that it will be prove fair but the result of these elections ends in the division between east and west Pakistan. Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto won the majority in west Pakistan but in East Pakistan Shiekh Mujibur Rehman was victorious. This was unacceptable to the West Pakistan and they try to keep them suppress and therefore army was sent there to control the situation.


In this year the second war with India was fought at the end of this war East Pakistan declares as independent state and become Bangladesh. In west Pakistan Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto took the charge of the Prime minister of Pakistan.


Bhutto was overthrown by General-Zia-UL-Haq and third martial was imposed by Zia-ul-Haq.


Bhutto was hanged after a controversial murder a controversial murder case. Though the hanging was widely known as judicial murder by the military.


General Zia called for elections but all major parties boycott these elections and Muhammad Junejo was elected as  prime minister but he was dismissed in June 1988.


Zia-ul-Haq died in a mysterious plane crash. After his death, the daughter of Bhutto, Benazir became the prime minister.


In 1990, Ghulam Ishaq Khan dissolve the Government of PPP, accusing them as corrupt and Nawaz-Sharif, the leader of PMLN won the election and became the prime minister.


After three years, Khan dismiss Shariff’s government but the judiciary overturned the action of president and Shariff was reinstate. But Nawaz Shariff resigned and in the next election Benazir won and again become the prime minister of Pakistan.


Once again Bhutto’s government was dismissed because  of their corrupt ways of ruling and once again Nawaz Sharif won the election in 1997 and became the prime minister.


Pakistan became the Nuclear power and proved the world that they are not less than anyone and become a nuclear-armed-state.


Nawaz Sharif’s reluctance to support army in Kashmir issue and his autocratic way of  ruling bring forth his exit and he was over thrown by Musharraf.


General Musharaf himself announced as the President of Pakistan after the resignation of Rafiq Tarar.


In the year 2002, After the parliamentary elections Musharraf transferred the elected powers to Zulfiqar Khan Jamali, the newly elected prime minister.

2007 to 2008:

In the year 2007, Pakistan national assembly completed its term and the charge was appointed to the former chairman of senate, Mian Mohammad Soomoro as the caretaker government until the next elections. The assassination of Benazir Bhutto on 27th December 2007 bring forth many political revolutions and in the elections of 18th February 2008, PPP dominated all other parties and Yousaf Raza Gilani was announced as the next prime minister and Asif Ali Zardari, husband of Benazir Bhutto became the president of Pakistan.